Windows 10 Display from graphics cards not working and related windows incompatibilty issues with drivers

• Thread starter Thread starter TheCheddar
  • Start date Start date
T

TheCheddar

So recently I have encountered numerous issues involving display adapters, driver incompatibilities, black screens etc...

tl dr at the bottom with specs:

If I had to think of when it started, it was in November last year where I would just not have any display through my gpu (at this point in time it was HIS RX 470 4GB) when booting my computer. After a few restarts it would work and be fine for a week or so until the issue repeats. Initially I thought it was my gpu because I've been using it non-stop since 2016, so a month ago it just stops completely. I work on multiple monitors(luckily) so I ran the system through my mb. Uninstalling, reinstalling drivers, old and new... but nothing seemed to work. (Card was posting but blank on log in)

After countless attempts, I switched to a GTX 1050ti that I'm borrowing from a sibling. Plugged it in, posted on boot, installed driver, restarted and everything seemed to be back to normal until a month later...(in Feb 2020)

The same @#$% thing started again. I repeated the above-mentioned procedure but started getting issues like NVidia drivers not compatible with windows version (on any driver I downloaded) tried updating windows and noticed its stuck on version 1903 even though the November update has been out for some time. After (I don't want to know how many) some troubleshooting forums and posts nothing seemed to work. I reinstalled windows even after downloading the newest Microsoft Installation tool on a boot drive took it about a dozen restarts and update checks it finally updated to 1909 where the Nvidia drivers still gave me the prompt that it is not compatible with the current windows version. At this point I went back to my RX 470 and guess what it worked again.... for about 2 days where my first issue started.