Windows 10 Setting up sharing of files after a Windows 10 reset.

• Thread starter Thread starter Grriff
  • Start date Start date
G

Grriff

1 Setting up sharing of files after a Windows 10 reset.
There are many postings about sharing of files over a network on Windows 10, so I’ve written down my experience as a home user.

I have a network consisting of a desktop computer, Dell laptop (both Windows 10) and Toshiba laptop (Windows 7). All of these require a password at start-up and on waking-up. After doing a complete reset of Windows 10 onto the Dell and reloading data files back onto the Dell, I found I could access the desktop and Toshiba from the Dell but not the Dell from either of the other computers. My experience at sorting this may help others but note that I am not an IT expert so you proceed at your own risk. The steps I took are divided into

Setting up drives on the reset computer for sharing

Setting up the security access to these files

These links might help:

File sharing over a network in Windows 10

[8 Fixes] Windows 10 File Sharing Not Working After Update 1803/1809/1903 - EaseUS

Urgent help needed. folder sharing not working after update. now can't work!

Connect PCs and users for sharing Windows 10 to Windows 8/7/Vista/XP (The first part of the first post is useful)

2 What can you do on the network?
1. Working from the reset computer, start Windows Explorer and click ‘Network’ (near the bottom of the list of files). If you can’t see the computers you saw before the reset, check you are connected to the network, for example by accessing the internet. You could try running the Troubleshooter (Start>Settings>Network and Internet>Network Troubleshooter)

2. On the other computers on the network, try and access files on the reset computer. This is where you may have trouble.

3. If you can see the computers but can’t access files on them, try the following (from the above web pages) on the computer which has had the reset.