Windows 7 Upgrading from Win7 Ultimate to Win10 at same time as changing motherboard/cpu/ram (due to broken Z87 mobo)

• Thread starter Thread starter DanDust
  • Start date Start date
D

DanDust

Hi there,

I'm hoping for some advice please. System specs given at the end.

My long standing trusty Z87 motherboard has sadly died (definitely confirmed it's that - see notes at end).

So I'm looking at either replacing it (with a Z97 mobo) or taking the opportunity to upgrade Motherboard/CPU/RAM.

Upgrading feels like the more sensible choice if I can stomach the cost. I don't have stacks of cash, but I've been using the same machine for 7 years and think I can get an 8th gen CPU and quality future proofed z390 motherboard at a reasonable net cost (see estimates at the end) after I sell the older components which are still functional. HOWEVER, my current system is still Windows 7, and reading online it seems after intel 6th gen CPUs win7 is not (easily) possible.

SO THE FIRST QUESTION IS:

- If I do the mobo/cpu/ram upgrade now, what will happen if I try and boot up my current Win7 SSD on a new mobo/cpu/ram combination?

- Will my existing Windows 7 fail to run? Or could it boot up ok? (maybe the issue is installing win7, not running it?)

- Or would it be clever enough to ask me to upgrade to windows 10 there and then? (doubt it)

- Or would I risk messing up my SSD somehow? (seems unlikely)

My gut feeling is that it simply won't boot up, so this leads to the...

SECOND QUESTION:

- If I make a fresh install of Windows 10 (after backing up my old SSD user files and reformatting), will I be able to activate this using my existing Windows 7 Ultimate key? Or will I need to buy a copy of Windows10?